

Journal of the Chemical Society

Chemical Communications

Preliminary accounts of important new work in chemistry

Journal of the Chemical Society Chemical Communications

Editorial Board

Stanley M. Roberts (Exeter; *Chairman*) Robert Aveyard (Hull) Anthony G.M. Barrett (Imperial College) Edwin C. Constable (Basel) Alwyn G. Davies (London) Judith A.K. Howard (Durham) Philip Kocienski (Southampton) Stephen Mann (Bath) Jan Reedijk (Leiden)

Regional Advisory Board

J.L. Atwood (Alabama) A.L.J. Beckwith (Canberra) D. Braga (Bologna) M. Chisholm (Indiana) M. Chmielewski (Warsaw) G. Ferguson (Guelph) C. Floriani (Lausanne) J.R. Hwu (Taipei) H.W. Kroto (Sussex) J.-M. Lehn (Strasbourg) P.M. Maitlis (Sheffield) T.J. Marks (Illinois) G. Mehta (Hyderabad) K.C. Nicolaou (California) C.N.R. Rao (Bangalore) C.W. Rees (London) P.v.R. Schleyer (Erlangen) Sang Chul Shim (Taejon) H. Werner (Würzburg) Xiaojie Xu (Peking) H. Yamamoto (Nagoya)

For Information for Authors, see Issue No. 1 pp. 2–4. Manuscripts and correspondence on editorial points should be addressed to the Editor at the above address.

The 1994 Annual member price is $\pounds64.00$. Members' orders, subscriptions (preferably accompanied by the appropriate remittance), and correspondence concerning the supply of *Chemical Communications* should be addressed to the Membership Office at the above address.

Chemical Communications (ISSN 0022-4936) is published twice monthly by The Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, UK CB4 4WF. All orders accompanied by payment should be sent directly to The Royal Society of Chemistry, Turpin Distribution Services Ltd., Blackhorse Road, Letchworth, Herts., UK SG6 1HN. *N.b.* Turpin Distribution Services Ltd., distributors, is wholly owned by The Royal Society of Chemistry. 1994 annual subscription rate: EC £429.00; Rest of World £461.00; Canada (excl. GST) £484.00; USA \$836.00. Customers should make payments by

Editorial Staff

Manager, Journals	Alan McNaught
Editor Senior Assistant Editor Assistant Editors	Peter Whittington David Bradley Michael Francis; Alan Holder; Carole Nerney
Editorial Secretaries	Michelle Brown; Mandy Scripps
Text artwork	Dennis Halls

Editorial Office

The Royal Society of Chemistry Thomas Graham House Science Park Milton Road Cambridge UK CB4 4WF

Telephone +44 (0) 223 420066 *Facsimile* +44 (0) 223 420247

Electronic Mail (Internet) rsc1@rsc.org or chemcomm@rsc.org

Advertisement sales

Telephone +44 (0) 71 287 3091; facsimile +44 (0) 71 494 1134

Members of the Editorial Board (who may be contacted directly or *via* the Editorial Office) welcome comments and suggestions on general policy matters relating to *Chemical Communications*.

cheque in sterling payable on a UK clearing bank or in US dollars payable on a US clearing bank. Second-class postage is paid at Rahway, NJ. Airfreight and mailing in the USA by Mercury Airfreight International Ltd. Inc., 2323 Randolph Avenue, Avenel, NJ 07001, USA, and at additional mailing offices. US Postmaster: send address changes to *Chemical Communications*, c/o Mercury Airfreight International Ltd. Inc., 2323 Randolph Avenue, Avenel, NJ 07001. All despatches outside the UK by Consolidated Airfreight. PRINTED IN THE UK.

© The Royal Society of Chemistry, 1994.

All rights reserved. No parts of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form, or by any means, electronic, mechanical, recording, or otherwise, without the prior permission of the publishers.