



www.elsevier.nl/locate/jorganchem

## ANNOUNCEMENT AND CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

## THE GEOFFREY WILKINSON PRIZE FOR CREATIVITY IN INORGANIC CHEMISTRY

The Geoffrey Wilkinson prize is awarded every two years for original contributions to Inorganic Chemistry. The prize consists of a gold medal, a citation, and US\$ 10,000.

The definition of inorganic chemistry includes organometallic chemistry, solid-state chemistry, coordination and bioinorganic chemistry, in addition to chemistry of the elements (excluding only that conventionally regarded as Organic Chemistry) with prime consideration for synthesis and new reactions.

Previous recipients of the prize (formerly called the Polyhedron prize) are: Geoffrey Wilkinson (1989), Richard H. Holm (1991), M. Frederick Hawthorne (1993), F. Albert Cotton (1995), Lord Jack Lewis (1997) and Herbert Roesky (1999).

The 2001 awardee will be chosen by the publisher's advisory board comprised of Professors F.A. Cotton, J. Lewis and A. Yamamoto. Nominations for the prize should be sent to Dr. Alexandra Migchielsen, Elsevier Science BV, Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands, who will be acting as the Secretary to the Committee. **The closing date for nominations is 30th June, 2001**.

The nominating letter should not exceed 500 words and should address the nominee's major contributions to inorganic chemistry. Additional documentation, such as a biographical sketch and a list of important publications, will be accepted but is not required.